Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

About MSU Libraries

Library News

08/05/2014

Summer Exhibits at Mitchell Memorial Library

Mitchell Memorial Library has several exhibits on view until the end of August.

A new exhibit on the second floor entitled Evolution of a Library highlights the history of the Mississippi State University Libraries from the basement of Old Main to the building and expansions of Mitchell Memorial Library. The exhibit features floor plans, documents, and photographs of the various stages of the library's building and expansions, and photographs of the people in the library over the years. In conjunction with the exhibit are the architectural renderings of the library's new expansion project.

Also on the second floor is a case featuring Maroon & Write. MSU is engaged in a 5-year Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) called Maroon and Write as part of the institution's regional accreditation. This plan seeks to improve the quality of student writing during their academic careers.

An exhibit in the atrium on the third floor features the 2014 Maroon Edition book "The Invisible Girls: A Memoir." Mississippi State University's first-year reading experience invites students to read a book before the fall semester begins and participate in related activities planned for next academic year.

A photographic exhibit on the third floor showcases MSU Presidents, vice-presidents and deans. "Mississippi State University Leaders" includes a gallery of presidents from Stephen D. Lee (1880-1899) to Mark E. Keenum (2009 – present).

Current exhibits will run through August 31.

This past July featured an exhibit in the third floor atrium of a small selection of World War II military records, family photos and other materials from the A. G. Wineman, Williams, Guice and Stockwell Family Papers. The highlight of the exhibit was a powder horn used by John Clem Williams during the Civil War.

The A.G. Wineman, Williams, Guice and Stockwell Family Papers are currently housed at Mississippi State University Libraries' Special Collections Department via Mr. Wade Wineman of Greenville, MS.