Mississippi State University
Mississippi State University Libraries

Need help?

Live chat

Chat Hours

Call or stop by

Reference Desk:
(662) 325-7667

Desk Hours   Location

MSU Faculty Authors


Robert LeRoy Phillips, Jr., received his Ph. D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1971, having written his dissertation on the works of four nineteenth-century Georgia writers - Augustus B. Longstreet, William Tappan Thompson, Richard Malcolm Johnston, and Joel Chandler Harris. He joined the English department at Mississippi State University in 1971, and became bookreview editor of the Mississippi Quarterly in 1973. In 1976 he was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Society for the Study of Southern Literature. As codirector for the Mississippi library Commission's project "Mississippi Writers in Context," a project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities (1975-1977), Phillips designed and coedited a six-segment television series on Mississippi's authors, A Climate for Genius (1975), edited written transcripts of the series, compiled and edited a collection of antebellum Mississippi short stories, and written introductory booklets on the works of Shelby Foote and Eudora Welty's The Golden Apples.

Shelby Foote, Novelist and Historian

Phillips, Robert L.
Publisher: University Press of Mississippi
ISBN: 0878055312

Richard Harding Davis

Phillips, Robert L.
Publisher: G.K. Hall & Co. Twayne Publishers
ISBN: 0805771921
Collaborators: Scott Compton Osborn

The present book is both a survey and an assessment of Davis's several careers. The first four chapters provide a chronological survey of his juvenilia, journalism, travel reporting, and war correspondence. Then follow three chapters on his fiction and drama; these chapters, taken together, are chronological, but, reflecting the development of Davis's career, the two chapters on fiction are separated by that dealing with drama. His career as a creative artist falls roughly into three periods. The steady stream of novels and short stories which began in 1890 came to an abrupt halt in 1902 when, after the failure of the novel Captain Macklin, Davis began to concentrate on writing plays; his experience with the commercial theater was also frustrating, and by 1907 he was again publishing fiction regularly. Hence, chapters 5 and 7 treat his fiction, and chapter 6 his drama. The attempt to deal with such a varied career and with such voluminous writing in a short study must, necessarily, fall short of being definitive, but it is hoped that as a general introduction this book will prove useful.

Antebellum Mississippi Stories

Phillips, Robert L.
Publisher: Mississippi Library Commission