Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

The Morris W. H. (Bill) Collins Speaker Series

Photo of Sidney L. Salter

November 9, 2000     Video

Sidney L. (Sid) Salter of Forest, Mississippi, is vice president of Emmerich Newspapers, Inc. and publisher of The Scott County Times in Forest and was chosen as Mississippi's best large weekly newspaper in Mississippi Press Association (MPA) competition the past two years.

Salter, 41, is a native of Philadelphia, Mississippi, and is a graduate of Philadelphia High School. He earned a B.A. degree in Political Science and History at Mississippi State University, where he was a John C. Stennis Scholar in Political Science.

His syndicated political column appears on the editorial pages of 62 Mississippi daily and weekly newspapers. His television commentary, "A Capitol Ideal," airs weekly on Meridian, Mississippi's ABC-affiliate WTOK-TV. In 1996, he was named the state's top television editorial commentator in Associated Press/Mississippi Association of Broadcasters competition.

Salter is the only weekly newspaper editor ever to win the MPA's J. Oliver Emmerich Editorial Excellence Award twice. He has also been awarded the University of Southern Mississippi's "Mississippi Medalist Award" for "lifetime achievement in Mississippi journalism" and the "Silver Inky" by Mississippi University for Women in recognition of "outstanding contributions to American journalism."

In 1992, at the invitation of the University, he donated his personal and professional papers to the "Mississippi Writers Collection" at Mississippi State University's Mitchell Memorial Library. He is a former member of the National Board of Directors of the Mississippi State University Alumni Association.

In 1996-97, he was selected as the inaugural holder of the Kelly Gene Cook Chair in Journalism at the University of Mississippi. During that academic year, he served as an Associate Professor of Journalism on the Ole Miss faculty.

In 1994, he was named to the Mississippi Business Journal/Sunburst Bank's "Top 40 Under 40" in the Mississippi business community. In 1996, he was presented the "Sam Walton Business Leader Award" by the Wal-Mart Corporation and the Forest Area Chamber of Commerce. He is a three-time winner of the Forest Area Chamber of Commerce's "Distinguished Service Award." He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Community Bank of Mississippi and the Mississippi Economic Council. He is president of the Forest Rotary Club. He is a past president of the MPA, the Forest Area Chamber of Commerce and the MPA Education Foundation.

Salter and his wife, the former Paula Jones of Macon, are the parents of a daughter, Kate, age 14, who is a freshman at Forest High School. They are members of the Forest United Methodist Church.

Photo of Gale Denley

S. Gale Denley is publisher of the Bruce, Mississippi, Calhoun County Journal, one of a very few family owned and operated newspapers in the state. Denley and his father, Sellers Denley, established the newspaper in August, 1953. He is married to the former Jo Ann Scott of Macon who is also active in the business along with two of their three daughters and two of their seven grandchildren.

Denley is Professor Emeritus of Journalism at the University of Mississippi, where he taught for 35 years.

He is the author of a self-syndicated column, which appears in several state newspapers, writing about cats and dogs and grandchildren and such. He has also been associated with several other newspapers in the state.

Denley is a former president of the MPA, a member of Rotary, Sons of the American Revolution, and the Calhoun County Historical Society.

He is on the area development board of the Tupelo-centered CREATE Foundation, and is chairman of the Dixie Regional Library Board.

He served as alderman and Mayor Pro Tempore of Bruce in the 1960s, vice-chairman of the Mississippi Ethics Commission, and is presently a Bruce Election Commissioner.

Denley is a member of the Bruce First Baptist Church and is on the Board of Trustees at Wood College.